Philip Marlowe #5: The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler (Pocket 4001 – 1963)

The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler

The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler

She Was Like The Kiss Of Death

She came around the back of the car and leaned up against me hard. Her arms went around my neck.

“I am being very foolish,” she said softly. “He will kill me for this – just as he killed Stein. Kiss me.”

I kissed her. Her lips were hot and dry. “Is he in there?”

“Yes.”

“Listen -”

“Kiss me again. I have not very long to live. When you are the finger for a man like that – you die young.”

I pushed her away from me, but gently.

She stepped back and lifted her right hand quickly. There was a gun in it now.

The October 1934 issue of Black Mask featured ...

The October 1934 issue of Black Mask featured the first appearance of the detective character whom Raymond Chandler would develop into the famous Philip Marlowe. Widdicombe (2001), pp. 37–39, 59–60, 118–19; Doherty, Jim. “Carmady”. Thrilling Detective Web Site . . Retrieved 2010-02-25 . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The 5th in the Philip Marlowe series

Title: The Little Sister
Author: Raymond Chandler
Imprint & Number: Pocket 4001
Cover price: 45¢
Publication date: 1963
Cover artist: Boyle
ISBN: none

Leave a Reply

